Product Review: PopSockets Expanding Stand and Grip for Smartphones and Tablets – Owl

Top Customer Reviews

Overall good product, just takes some things into consideration when buying…

By Kristy on March 12, 2017
Color: Owl | Verified Purchase

So as far as product description, this item does as advertised. It expands and grips to your phone via a sticky adhesive. The adhesive is covered by a plastic protector and you may or may not have a little difficulty removing it, just be aware that you gotta remove it.

Things to take into consideration:
You may have the experience of having to re-position it multiple times, to find a position that is comfortable to you.

The adhesive can lose its stickiness, but a little water and air drying will help clean it off and revive it.

If you re-position your pop socket, I highly recommend slowly pulling from the base where the adhesive is, and not at the top where your design is, because you can run the risk of damaging your pop socket.

Depending on the size of your hands, especially if you have larger hands, you may find that the socket does not expand enough for your liking.

Personally, I could not find a comfortable position for my pop socket while my case was on my Samsung galaxy s4. I decided to try it without the case and the socket was much more comfortable to use. This could be an issue for many because obviously, a case serves a very important purpose of protecting your device. I know people that use it on their case and find that it is not an issue for them.

Depending on what device you originally bought your socket for, you may find you like it better when paired with another device. I originally bought the pop socket to go with my phone, but I actually found that I prefer it better when used with my kindle.

If you are buying this to use as a stand for tablets, it won’t work as well the larger the tablet is. I tried my 1st gen kindle fire laying horizontally and it held up fine, but then I tried my Samsung galaxy 3 tab, and it would not hold it up because it was too tall (even laying sideways) and too heavy.

Hope this all helps you make a more informed decision on your pop socket! 🙂

Edit* I wanted to add since buying this product, it has become more comfortable to use in general and over time to use with my phone with a case on. Also, I mentioned that you will have difficulty using one to hold up larger tablets, but I don’t know if having two popsockets would make a difference.

Get the Owl Popsocket from Amazon

GET THIS ADORABLE OWL POPSOCKET NOW!